Inspiration

Last night we had one of those seemingly impromptu staff dinners (I am always the last to know of events or gatherings). At one point in the lull between courses of raw fish and wiggling sea-life, I found inspiration for a blog post.  I have made allusions, but I do not think I have ever explained the complexities of a Korean eating experience. Especially one framed in the rigid hierarchy of a staff dinner.

But that inspiration melted away into the scalding waters of the spa in which I decided to indulge in – post-dinner. From the steam of the sauna, rose inspiration for a new project: The Korean Spa Scavenger Hunt.

Now I imagine I have said it here before, I verbally say it often: Korean spas or jimjilbangs are my absolute favorite aspect of Korea. They are rejuvenating, inspirational and quite inexpensive (about $5-10). I dont want to get into it too much but there are some variations. There are multi story buildings where one can stay the night after a session in the hot tubs and saunas. These are technically the jimjilbangs. Then there are the spa/sauna facilities that are attached to fitness centers and hotels. There are also tourist saunas, that are only meant to entertain for a few hours. The mecca of which is Spa Land in Busan (at the top of my domestic travel list) which has a 4 hour time limit (most jimjilbangs are open 24 hours and offer no (or loose) time constraints)).

So what items would I include on my Korean Spa Scavenger Hunt?

 

Korean Spa Scavenger Hunt

__   An individual wearing a Princess Leia style towel in the sauna

__  7 shower totes

__  2 different individuals with tattoos

__  6 individuals bushing teeth while showering

__  One individual with more than 5 different bottles of shampoos, body scrubs and elixirs

__  One pair exchanging scrubs in the seated shower section

__ An individual with circular rashes on their back (evidence of a recent  Chinese medicine visit)

__ One individual floating spread eagle in the cold bath

__ 2 individuals with evidence of medical procedure scaring

 

I think that’s a good start. What additions (0r corrections) would you make to my list?!?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Krista James on October 14, 2015 at 11:20 am

    Love it!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Barb Baumgartner on October 14, 2015 at 1:00 pm

    Interesting!

    Reply

  3. Thank you for reading 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

